Alaska e-Post online
Alaska Department of Fish & Game
The daily bag and possession limit for littleneck clams is 1,000. Littleneck clams must be 1.5 inches or larger across the widest part of the shell.
The butter clam bag and possession limit is 700 clams and they must be 2.5 inches or greater across the widest part of the shell.
For hardshell clam regulations and identification information, check page 15 of the 2007 Alaska Sport Fishing Regulations Summary for southcentral Alaska.
For clammers between the ages of 16 and 59, you must have a 2007 Alaska sport fishing license in your possession to take clams and other invertebrates.
For Alaska residents who are 60 or older, and for Alaska resident disabled veterans, you must have your ADF&G Permanent Identification Card in your possession.
Anglers under 16 are not required to have a fishing license, but must dig their own clams.
The fine for clamming without a sport fishing license in possession is $200. Possession of undersized clams or over-limit of clams may result in a fine of $100 plus $2 per clam.
Clams that are dug but not kept should be reburied in the beach because they cannot easily rebury themselves and will likely be swept away by the returning tides or eaten by predators.